VapourJuice UK: Rhubarb & Custard and Vanilla Blend e-liquids

Disclaimer: Please note I purchased these e-liquids with my own hard earned cash.  As a result, this review reflects my honest opinion. All of my e-liquid reviews are based on my use of a 900 mah eGo style passthrough battery and a 2.5-2.9 Ohm Vision eGo clearomizer (aka the Stardust). It is important to remember that the vaping experience for any e-liquid is subjective and will depend on the person and their PV setup.

Flavours:  Rhubarb and Custard & Vanilla Blend
Maker:  VapourJuice UK
Nicotine Level: 18 mg
Base: 50/50 Blend PG/VG
Supplier: VapourJuice UK
Size & Price: 20ml – £8.99
Juice type: Premium

VapourJuice UK is a vendor I have been seeing a lot of discount codes for and kept meaning to place an order with so when they had a large discount code over the jubilee weekend I stuck an order in for a couple of bottles to give them a try. The standard price for a 20 ml bottle is pretty good (£7.99 or £8.99 depending on the e-liquid) and something I really like is free postage and packaging: something of a rarity with UK vendors these days.  The proprietor Jay processed and dispatched my order really quickly given the bank holidays so nothing to complain about there. The bottles themselves are child-safe and have really nice precision tips, which means you can fill carto’s, tanks and even imist tanks without the need of a syringe. However, the labeling is somewhat limited, no ingredients list, a tiny toxic symbol and no tactile hazard label.

Enough already what of the juices???

Moonshine – Rhubarb & Custard

Ok, so rhubarb and custard sweets are a definite throwback to my childhood. They remind me of going to the Newsagents with my granddad and getting a quarter from the big glass jars behind the counter. I loved these sweets, so was stoked to see an e-liquid in this flavour. It smells just like the sweets in the bottle, sweet and tangy rhubarb – a good start. Sadly though, it doesn’t quite get to being a true representative of the sweets when vaping.  The flavour is almost all rhubarb; I can’t get any of the custard flavour of the sweets from this. It is not unpleasant, just lacks that sweet element that would make it truly authentic. The rhubarb flavour is also very astringent making my mouth really dry and this juice has actually given me heartburn on a couple of occasions when I vaped it for long periods of time. Don’t get me wrong, if you like rhubarb it is a pretty good flavour, just not one that can be classed as an all-day-vape for me. In terms of vapour production it is quite surprising really, for a 50/50 mix this does not produce the fog I have come to expect when vaping similar mix ratios from Vapist’s vapours. It is more like the vapour you would get from a 70% PG and 30% VG mix, so still enough for me – just not what is expected. In terms of throathit, for an 18mg this does have a punch, I think that this is partly a result of the sharpness of the Rhubarb, but regardless it is a good kick!

All in all this just misses the mark, but not by much… its definitely a bottle I will finish, and probably one I will go back for more of.

Northern Lights – Vanilla Blend

I am coming to the end of my tether with tobacco flavours at the moment, as I am really struggling to find one that meets my occasional need for a tobacco based vape. Most of the straight tobacco flavours are way off the mark, often tasting plant like, or of burning wood, so I have been trying out a few tobacco blends in a bid to find a combination that meets the ciggie-like needs, but also has a pleasant taste of something else. So I thought I would give the Vanilla Blend from VapourJuice’s Northern Lights range a go. The main smell you get from the bottle is the vanilla, in fact, I struggled to smell anything else from the bottle, not that that is a bad thing. Taste wise, well to me this is a pretty disappointing juice. I can only describe the taste as “watery” it lacks any strength, no real tobacco elements and has just a hint of the vanilla I smelled. I personally feel that they could do with upping the percentages of all of the base flavours in this mix. This lack of punch means the juice is not unpleasant it is just very “meh…” I have nearly finished the 20 ml bottle and am pretty sure that this is one I wont be re-ordering. In terms of vapour production this is pretty good, not really “thick” vapour but plenty enough there and again for 18mg it has a good throat hit.

All in all a disappointing juice for me, lacked any real flavour meaning it has been a pretty bland vape so not one for the re-order list.

So a bit of a mixed bag really, very impressed with the prices and service from the vendor and one of the two juices is a fairly good stab at what it says it is. I will certainly try a few more from the range they have, but will be avoiding vanilla blend for sure.

Cheers,

DocVape

 

One thought on “VapourJuice UK: Rhubarb & Custard and Vanilla Blend e-liquids

  1. Pingback: Rhubarb e-juice?

Leave a Reply

