Sweet treats from Alba Vapours…

Disclaimer: Please note I purchased these e-liquids with my own hard earned cash.  As a result, this review reflects my honest opinion. All of my e-liquid reviews are based on my use of a 900 mah eGo style passthrough battery and a 2.5-2.9 Ohm Vision eGo clearomizer (aka the Stardust). It is important to remember that the vaping experience for any e-liquid is subjective and will depend on the person and their PV setup.
Alba Vapours e-liquids

Alba Vapours sweet treats

Flavours:  Raspberrymallow, Chocolate Mint, CherryFrost
Maker:  Alba Vapours
Nicotine Level: 18 mg
Base: 70/30 PG/VG mix
Supplier: Alba Vapours
Size & Price: 10ml – £4.25 or 30ml – £9.25
Juice type: Premium

A  couple of months ago I purchased three e-liquids from a UK vendor called Alba Vapours. My choices were largely influenced by the fact that I have been trying to find a good all day vape that is not tobacco based. My thought process for this is that I have given up smoking for a reason, there is no e-liquid that truly resembles a cigarette and anyway, why would you want to try to replicate that “ashtray” flavour?
So, I was looking for something slightly different in my flavours and so ordered a 30ml bottle of Raspberry Mallow, 10ml of Cherry Frost and 10ml of Chocolate Mint. All were 18mg and constitute a 70/30 PG/VG mix. In terms of service Alba Vapours was top drawer. The order was processed and posted the same day and with me the following morning. The bottles were well packed and fully CHIP compliant, with good clear “Toxic” labelling and safety tops. My only concern in this respect is that the tactile danger warning labels have all lost their stickiness and fallen off the three bottles. Obviously this is not a major concern for me, but it is possibly something the vendor should be aware of.
On to the reviews:

Raspberrymallow.
This flavour was the  one I was most anticipating having seen Cyberpixie’s review on YouTube. I am a fiend for all things raspberry and when combined with marshmallows this sounded great. When I first got the juice it was virtually clear and the smell was primarily raspberry, with a very faint hint of something sweet. Loading a vision ego this juice produces a lot of vapour and has a surprisingly strong throat hit. I generally would not expect sweet flavours to have this much kick, but for me it is a pleasant surprise. In contrast to the smell this e-liquid’s flavour was all about the marshmallow. For me, the raspberry was only apparent on the exhale, and even then it felt a bit ‘weak’. Leaving part of the bottle to steep for a month or so changed the colour dramatically. It has taken on a pink hue and whilst the flavour of the marshmallow has become more apparent the raspberry is still confined to a “bit-part”. What is really great about this flavour though, is that it can be an all day vape for those with a sweet tooth. It doesn’t get overly sickly the more you have and as an added bonus the vapour even has a nice ‘sherbert’ smell, according to my wife!

Too long: didn’t read
So in summary, Loads of vapour, strong throat hit and a very good flavour authentic to its name. Not overly sweet so could be an all day vape, but could do with an extra little boost of the raspberry element to make it brilliant.

Chocolate Mint.
When I first got this liquid I was a little shocked by the colour within the bottle. As dark as chocolate, this liquid immediately screamed to me that it would kill any atomiser it was put on. I am happy to report that this is not the case. The smell is more of a cocoa mint than chocolate mint, which actually suits me. It is like the mint and chocolate chips that you find in ice cream – yummy!
Vaping this e-liquid is quite special. Whilst It doesn’t produce clouds of vapour, there is more than enough and it has a somewhat mild throat hit in comparison to the other juices I got from this vendor. However, what it does do, and it does it extremely well, is replicate the taste of Bendick’s bittermints. If you have never tried these then all I can say is where have you been all your life? These are a plain chocolate covered mint fondant, which is surprisingly lacking in sweetness but beautifully refreshing. I would consider them a grown up after-eight! Personally I love this flavour. It is definitely not something you could vape all day, but it is perfect after dinner with a cup of coffee. This is top drawer stuff and I intend to keep a bottle in pride of place just there.

Too long: didn’t read
Milder throat hit and lower vapour. production than some  But, authentic Bendicks bittermint flavour that is luxurious and an evening treat.

CherryFrost.
When I stuck this bottle in my order it was the one I was most apprehensive about. I was concerned that this would be too much ‘frost’ and not enough cherry.  Despite my concerns this juice smelled great in the bottle; both flavours were obvious and neither felt suppressed by the other. Vaping this liquid is a refreshing change in more ways than one.  Lots of vapour and a really good throat hit; something which is probably as a result of the menthol element.   The taste itself is very good. Initially I felt it was too ‘loud’ in flavour, but it has really grown on me. I did think that this may be a bit like vaping a throat lozenge but was pleasantly surprised, what I got was clearly a combination of juicy cherries and fresh mint. Neither flavour dominates which is important to me.
In addition, the mint element makes the vaping experience really clean and zingy, particularly as there is not a weird background taste like you sometimes get from some of the cheaper chinese e-liquids . It doesn’t feel like it’s drying your mouth out at all and could quite easily be an all day vape for someone who wanted to avoid the tobacco flavours. I am impressed by this one and am likely to go back for more

Too long: didn’t read
Strong throat hit, clouds of vapour. Clean and fresh cherries and mint. A good all day vape.

So, all in all, Alba Vapours has produced some cracking juices and at what I believe to be very reasonable prices. The flavours are what they say they are (Although, as I said, more raspberry needed in the ‘mallow juice) and all all really good to boot. I am hearing some really good things about some of their other flavours on the forums (Swedish Fish and Root Beer amongst others) so I will be placing more orders in the future…

DocVape

One thought on “Sweet treats from Alba Vapours…

  1. Pingback: A nice pair of pink‘uns from Alba-Vapours: Pink Lemonade and Raspberrymallow v2. « vapingjourney

Leave a Reply

